A Letter To A Dead Lover

Dear “You”,

This definitely isn’t my first time
Writing letters you’ll never get
And it probably won’t be my last
But this is the first time
I won’t write your name
Because if you’re written into every line
How can I forget about what once was?
Your name has long been stale
Tucked into the corners of my mouth
And when it reaches my tongue
I can only spit it out
So for now
I’ll keep it locked up
As a secret
Held tightly between my teeth
In hopes that one day soon
It’ll remove itself without mention
And I’ll have moved on

Sincerely,
“Me”

Leave a Reply

