Skin, Bones, and The Nothing You Show

Crane your neck
In hopes you’ll find a spine
The one you’ve been missing
And I’m not sure if I find
You less tasteful
Or absent of tact
But when the skin you’re in
Only exists to hide
Your lack of substance
It’s a great disguse
But I read through every lie

*This wasn’t where I originally intended to go with that opening line, but I’ve been sitting on it for a while now, and  this was my outcome of trying to write tonight. I’m not sure I’m very pleased with it, but at the same time, I am.*

3 thoughts on “Skin, Bones, and The Nothing You Show

    1. I’m glad you like it! I normally don’t sit on phrases, I just sort of write in the moment, but I couldn’t gather much thought other than the first few lines, so I waited a couple weeks and then revisited it then, so I’m still a little unsure of how I feel overall about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

