Unrequited

I told her once that I loved her
And she said
“I’ll miss the way your fingers felt dancing on my skin,
Like shadows disappearing as the sun sinks behind the trees,
Or when the rain falls gently over the cracked pavement.”

I told her once that I loved her
And she told me she knew

I told her once that I loved her
And we shared a silence together
Glimmering moments without movements
Just pure existence.

I told her once that I loved her
And she smiled in affirmation
That we both knew she wouldn’t be around
To hear those words a second time

I told her once that I loved her
I told her once.

Leave a Reply

